Pre-Caspian countries

Negotiations related to the demarcation of the Caspian Sea have been going on for nearly a decade now among the littoral states bordering the Caspian - Azerbaijan, Russia, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan and Iran. There is no multilateral treaty on the legal status of the Caspian sea and the use of its mineral and natural resources. Russia, Kazakhstan and Azerbaijan have agreed to a solution about their sectors.