Historical region between the Caspian Sea and the Black Sea. It borders in the north by Russia, in the south by Iran, in the west by the Black Sea and Turkey, in the east by the Caspian Sea. The Caucasus is one of the most linguistically and culturally diverse regions on the Earth. The Caucasus comprises the states of Azerbaijan, Georgia and Armenia, as well as the remote southern parts of the Russian Federation.