Treaty of Izmir

Treaty aimed to sustainable economic development in the region and on the establishment of Organization of Regional Development was signed in 1977 in Izmir by Turkey, Pakistan and Iran. In 1985 the Organization of Regional Development was transformed to the Economic Cooperation Organization. After, seven more countries - Azerbaijan, Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan joined the organization in 1992, it expended its activities. The total area of the member-countries is nearly 7 million square kilometres; population - more than 300 million. It tells of big economic, social and humanitarian opportunities of ECO.